[THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Discussion about Pre-THUG1 things can go here, such as modding, etc
Skater1014
VIP
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: 'Murica!
Contact:

[THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Postby Skater1014 » Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:03 pm

(Also posted this on THPSX.)

I noticed that THPS3 seems to always run in a borderless window when in fullscreen.

Ever since I got Windows 10 when it first came out, I noticed that THPS3 was running a bit choppy as in, it still runs at 60FPS but doesn't look smooth at all. I also noticed that there's absolutely no screen tearing at all when I had minor screen tearing (but the game ran pretty smooth) on previous OS's such as Windows 7 & XP.

So I decided to look up the choppyness issue and apparently Windows 10 forces v-sync (via DWM.exe) on games that run either in windowed mode or borderless fullscreen mode and the only workaround is to run the game in exclusive fullscreen mode.
The issue is that THPS3 doesn't run in exclusive fullscreen so my questions are:

1. Is it possible to make THPS3 run in exclusive fullscreen on Windows 10?
2. Is it possible to disable v-sync in games like THPS3 on Windows 10?
(Trust me, I've tried pretty much everything to disable v-sync in THPS3 and nothing seems to be working.)

Catarax
VIP
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: [THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Postby Catarax » Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:54 pm

No issue on my Windows 10, I use the latest version of levelmod.
The widescreen hack may help to fix it: https://github.com/ThirteenAG/Widescree ... /tag/thps3

Skater1014
VIP
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: 'Murica!
Contact:

Re: [THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Postby Skater1014 » Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:39 pm

Catarax wrote:No issue on my Windows 10, I use the latest version of levelmod.
The widescreen hack may help to fix it: https://github.com/ThirteenAG/Widescree ... /tag/thps3

I use the lastest version of levelmod as well. (THPS4 Update)

I just tried the widescreen patch, still runs in borderless fullscreen & messes up the HUD.
(I can tell because the volume bar shows up in-game when changing the system volume & the game's visuals show up in the little window tooltip on the taskbar when minimized.)

I've always used Demo's respatcher tool for THPS3 anyway.

The choppyness is very minor and the game is playable, it's just that after dealing with this minor v-sync issue for so long it's starting to get to me.
The game does run at full speed, it's just that movements don't look as smooth and can look really choppy at times because of the forced v-sync.
(Steam Overlay shows 59FPS most of the time even when it looks choppy.)

This issue is also the reason why my THPS3 vids on YT are not 60FPS but other ones like THUGPRO are.

Catarax
VIP
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: [THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Postby Catarax » Mon Jan 02, 2017 8:27 pm

Try to not run it from the launcher, also i din't have enabled anti alising and remove steam overlay.

For thps 4 i got framerate issue, was fixed with forced v sync on nvidia panel.

You can try to dl Bordeless Gaming App to fix tour problem.

Skater1014
VIP
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: 'Murica!
Contact:

Re: [THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Postby Skater1014 » Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:10 pm

Catarax wrote:Try to not run it from the launcher, also i din't have enabled anti alising and remove steam overlay.

For thps 4 i got framerate issue, was fixed with forced v sync on nvidia panel.

You can try to dl Bordeless Gaming App to fix tour problem.

For some reason, it opens the launcher every other time I launch Skate3.exe.
I think I have a framerate issue with THPS4 as well but I don't play it too often anyway.

Also, I have an AMD card and v-sync is disabled in Radeon Settings.

Skater1014
VIP
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: 'Murica!
Contact:

Re: [THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Postby Skater1014 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:25 pm

By the way, I tried all of those suggestions earlier.
Still having borderless fullscreen with forced v-sync.

Catarax
VIP
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: [THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Postby Catarax » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:01 pm

Even with that?
http://store.steampowered.com/app/388080
You have to add the process after game launched.

Looks like an AMD issue, latest Windows Anniversary update too?

Skater1014
VIP
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: 'Murica!
Contact:

Re: [THPS3] (Windows 10) Minor Issue

Postby Skater1014 » Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:51 pm

Catarax wrote:Even with that?
http://store.steampowered.com/app/388080
You have to add the process after game launched.

Looks like an AMD issue, latest Windows Anniversary update too?

Yep, Windows & graphics drivers have been up to date.
I didn't get the Steam version since it wasn't free so I got it from Github instead.
The game showed up on the list but it didn't do anything when I toggled it.

My old computer also had an AMD card and initially came with Windows 7.
THPS3 had absolutely no v-sync at that time. It ran smoothly.
When Windows 10 got released, I did the free upgrade thing and that's when the v-sync/borderless fullscreen issue started.
I now have a different computer that I've had for a little over a year now and I still have this issue.


Return to “Legacy THPS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests